Nominations Requested For Annual Dostanic Award 2022

Yale’s Department of Internal Medicine has created an annual physician-scientist intern award in memory of Iva Dostanic, MD, PhD, whose intelligence, creativity, work ethic, achievement and passion for medical science are the physician’s highest ideals. scientist illustrated.

We are seeking nominations for the 2022 Iva Dostanic, MD, PhD, Physician-Scientist Trainee Award and Lecture. The recipient will present the Iva Dostanic Award Lecture during Medical Grand Rounds on June 23, 2022.

Nomination Deadline

Friday 28 January 2022

Eligibility and Selection Criteria

Nominees must meet the following eligibility and selection criteria:

Physician-scientist with MD or MD-PhD Completion of a residency degree in internal medicine at Yale or another institution. Current position as a mentor research intern with appointment as a postdoctoral fellow, postdoctoral associate, associate research scientist or instructor in one of the sections of the Department of Medicine. Performance in original research proven by peer-reviewed papers published or in the press. Commitment to research reflected by applications for fellowship grants and/or career advancement awards. Availability to present the Iva Dostanic Award Lecture on June 23, 2022.

Nomination Process

We encourage nominations of supervised interns with excellent potential for careers as physician-scientists. The following nomination materials should be emailed to Peter Aronson, Chair of the Dostanic Award Committee, with a copy to Nancy Kravitz:

A single one page nomination letter jointly signed by the nominee’s Section Head and Primary Mentor. Annotated curriculum vitae of the nominee. For important publications, briefly describe the role of the nominee and the significance of the work.

Past Dostanic Awardees with titles from Award Lectures

2012: Iva Dostanic, MD, PhD, Pulmonary, Critical Care and Sleep Medicine, “Emerging Roles for Innate Immunity in Lung and Endothelium” (presented by Patty Lee)

2013: Isaac Hall, MD, MS, Nephrology, “Donor Renal Quality and Acute Kidney Injury with Transplantation”

2014: Daniel Jane-Wit, MD/PhD, Cardiovascular Medicine, “Translational Approaches to Study Cardiac Allograft Vasculopathy”

2015: Jose Herazo-Maya, MD, Pulmonary, Critical Care and Sleep Medicine, “Predicting Outcome in IPF: The Dawn of Genomic Biomarkers”

2016: Lauren Ferrante, MD, MHS, Pulmonary, Critical Care and Sleep Medicine, “Improving Post-ICU Outcomes: A Call to Action”

2017: Sarah Huen, MD, PhD, Nephrology, “Acute Kidney Injury: Not Everything Inflammatory Is Pathological”

2018: Stephen Baldassarri, MD, MHS, Pulmonary, Critical Care and Sleep Medicine, “Electronic Cigarettes: The End of Smoking or a Deadly New Addiction?”

2019: Shelli Farhadian, MD, PhD, Infectious Diseases, “Neuro-Inflammation During Chronic HIV Infection”

2020: Rupak Datta, MD/PhD, MPH, Infectious Diseases, “Antibiotic Stewardship to Advance Palliative Care in Older Adults Near the End of Life”

2021: Ana Luisa Perdigoto, MD, PhD, Endocrinology & Metabolism, “Clinical and preclinical insights into the mechanisms of checkpoint inhibitor-induced diabetes”

Contact us for additional information

Peter S. Aronson, MD

Chairman, Iva Dostanic Award Committee

Department of Internal Medicine

PO Box 208029

New Haven, CT 06520-8029

Yale’s Department of Internal Medicine is one of the nation’s premier departments, bringing together an elite cadre of clinicians, researchers and educators in one of the world’s premier medical schools. For more information, visit Internal Medicine.

Comments are closed.