Choi is Recipient of Wong Award for 2021-2023

Samuel Choi, MD, received the Raymond P. Wong Award on November 11, 2021. Karl L. Insogna, MD, FACP, Wong Award Committee Chair, presented the award at the first personal medical grand tours of 2021.

Choi is Wong’s fourth winner. Past recipients have included Saria Hassan, MD (2010-2013), Patrick Kelly, MD (2014-2017), and Levita Robinson, MD (2018-2020). Choi, who arrived at Yale as an assistant physician in July 2018, has a particular interest in caring for the homeless in New Haven. He recently worked with Philip Costello, APRN, clinical director of Homeless Healthcare at Cornell Scott Hill Health Center, to establish a walk-in center for the homeless that will provide a range of services, including healthcare. The Wong Award supports Choi’s research proposal to determine whether the walk-in center will reduce emergency room visits and hospitalizations for homeless residents in New Haven.

The Wong Award honors the legacy of Raymond P. Wong, MD, who was one of the most dedicated family physicians in the local community and made a prominent contribution to the education of students and domestic workers. Originally founded by Yale New Haven Hospital, the Yale Medical Board and the New Haven County Medical Association in 2009, the fellowship is now supported by Yale New Haven Hospital, the Yale Medical Board and Yale School of Medicine’s Department of Internal Medicine. The Wong Award is presented to a graduating member or recent graduate of internal medicine, primary care, or medicine/pediatric residencies at Yale New Haven Hospital who prefers, but is not limited to, accepts a practice position in a New Haven urban healthcare setting, in the Cornell Scott Hill Health Center, for at least three years.

Awardees commit to the program for three years and receive an annual stipend of $30,000 per year for three years. The prize is awarded in addition to their regular salary.

Submitted by Jane E. Dee on November 16, 2021

Comments are closed.